Guerilla Theater

After reading the guerrilla theater piece, I thought about how that type of performance would relate to what we discussed in class. The way I saw it, most everyone agreed in class that it would be ideal if teachers, as performers, would allow the students to learn through alternate styles of teaching that did not mirror the teacher feeding the student all of the information in a direct instruction model method. While this is ideal, there is a time and a place for all types of teaching. As a pre-service teacher, I see the pressure of mandated standards–I see lists of information that my students are responsible for knowing at the end of the year. Practically, we can’t change such a socialized and deeply embedded institution. But we can change how we teach our students to make movements to change the things that they don’t like about the world. The guerrilla theater piece gave examples of ways to use different gestures to call for change. Is it possible to teach our students to make gestures to change the things that they want to change? And on the most basic level, can we teach them that it is okay to fight for what they believe in? I feel like there is a fundamental notion that children need to be taught what is right and wrong. Children are so innocent. They are able to assess those situations with innocent and unassuming eyes. I don’t really know where I am going with this, but I suppose I am trying to take the reading, a concept so foreign to me, and apply it to my world in a practical way.

Here is an article I found about children doing big things for change:

http://www.unep.org/Documents.Multilingual/Default.asp?DocumentID=538&ArticleID=5838&l=en

I guess my big question is can teachers ignite that fire in children to fight for what they believe in and teach them that they have the power to make things happen? Did the children in the article come up with what they are fighting for on their own? Can children shock the world the way that guerrilla performers do? Personally, I think that the vision of a child at a UN environment conference is a shocking display of revolutionary change.

 

Leave a Reply

