Teachers Serving the Oppression

As an education major I have observed the practice of “banking education” many many times and have never been a fan of it.  While many young and pre-service teachers now are trying to move past traditional teaching practices(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-S54bbX6eA) to more discovery-based practices I fear that even these methods will be serving the oppression in this country .  It is always the case that the oppressors make the rules in any society which includes the regulation of education.  This being the case I don’t see how students can be educated, at least not in mainstream education, in a way that does not serve the oppressor. As a future teacher I do not wish to dehumanize my students but after reading this I am afraid that I will not be able to avoid doing just that, if I follow the rule that is.

Leave a Reply

